Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-12-2010, 08:15 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

throw out pto bearing?

I am new to this so help me out. I was talking to a guy about his bus and he mentioned that his transmission had a throw out bearing? It sounded like there was a PTO attatchment on the thing to me because I had no idea what he was talking about. It allowed him to have the bus running and the transmission in gear but it didn't spin the axle it spun something else that powered the generators. I was hoping somebody would know what I was talking about. the bus is a good drive away from me or id go back and ask.

thanks for any help

newtoskool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 09:07 PM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 1978
Coachwork: thomas
Chassis: ford
Engine: 406 Ford
Rated Cap: 25
Re: throw our pto bearing?

I don't want to sound condescending, but every manual transmission has a throw-out bearing- it's one of the most critical pieces to clutch operation.
As far as PTO's (PTO- power take off) go, they are a handy accessory that can be attached on to many manual transmissions, that are essentially another set of gears that can power a variety of things- winches, pumps, farm implements, your friends generator, etc.- and are very handy, indeed.
Most all good sized tractors have them, and on tractors especially, they can be very dangerous. People get chewed up by them every year. Anyhow, this isn't a detailed explanation, but I hope it helps.
bus-ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 10:50 PM   #3
Bus Nut

pto HUH????