Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-01-2024, 06:43 PM   #1

Trouble with 2001 Bluebird / International 3800

Converting a 2001 Bluebird with T444E and Allison 2000. A little background before the problem. I have Bluefire to monitor the engine, I got a tune from PHP and I build turbos for a living so the turbo is massaged. Also put in an electronic fan clutch.
Almost finished with the conversion and drove it for the first extended run this last weekend. Two issues, one the engine temp seems to run up to 210, then the fan kicks on and cools it. Happens all the time, no matter how fast or slow I am going.
Second issue, the torque converter wasn't locking. I was told it had an AT545, so I wasn't expecting a locking converter, but I finally read the tag before the trip and found out it is a 2000 series.
Any advice or help to point me in the right direction would be great!
Thanks.

TyGen1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2024, 05:01 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2001
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: T444E, Allison 2000
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by TyGen1 View Post
Converting a 2001 Bluebird with T444E and Allison 2000. A little background before the problem. I have Bluefire to monitor the engine, I got a tune from PHP and I build turbos for a living so the turbo is massaged. Also put in an electronic fan clutch.
Almost finished with the conversion and drove it for the first extended run this last weekend. Two issues, one the engine temp seems to run up to 210, then the fan kicks on and cools it. Happens all the time, no matter how fast or slow I am going.
Second issue, the torque converter wasn't locking. I was told it had an AT545, so I wasn't expecting a locking converter, but I finally read the tag before the trip and found out it is a 2000 series.
Any advice or help to point me in the right direction would be great!
Thanks.