Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-08-2015, 07:07 AM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: CAT 3126 7.2L
Rated Cap: 78
1997 Freightliner 3126 white smoke and power loss

I just purchased a 1997 school bus with a 3126. Under load when the turbo starts to spool it starts blowing white smoke and losses power. I thought clogged fuel filter but symptoms are the same after the change. I checked the turbo and the compressor is spotless inside and shaft play is less then 1/16" and spins freely. Any suggestions? I'm new to the diesel seen.

Big11beard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 07:42 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1989
Chassis: Saf-T-Liner ER
Engine: 3208 CAT/MT643 tranny
Rated Cap: 87
Blown head gasket. White is steam from the coolant getting into the combustion chamber. Just based upon what I'm reading.
M1031A1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 08:14 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

I would agree white equals coolant getting into the combustion chamber.

I would take it into a shop to have it professionally diagnosed before much longer.

If you do have a bad head gasket it could fail totally and hydro-lock your engine at speed. At that point you can break connecting rods, crankshafts, and other very expensive parts.

Good luck.
cowlitzcoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 08:51 AM   #4
Skoolie

I checked the oil and it didn't look like water was making into the oil but I suppose water could be going only into the combustion chamber. How would I verify the head gasket and is it reasonable to replace it myself?
Old 06-08-2015, 09:29 AM   #5
Bus Crazy

If the only time you are getting white smoke is under acceleration it probably won't show up in the oil--it is getting consumed in the combustion process.