Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-19-2017, 11:32 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Chassis: GMC Bluebird
Engine: Cat 3126
3116 cat and Allison transmission

https://seattle.craigslist.org/sno/cto/6165118552.html

Ok, so I am about to make an offer on my 1st bus (please check it out above) and as I am a def newbie with little mechanical background I am hoping for some guidance!

The seller told me it broke a crankshaft around 60k but has been maintained by bus mechanic and the engine has been gone thru, is solid and he drives it every year to Mexico towing his dirt bikes with no issue. He has all records of maintenance since new and bought it from a mechanic for the bus company. Again he swears to its reliability and states he would trust the engine to take me anywhere in the county.

Any advice and input would be awesome, I have done research online but get such varying answers like "stay away from a cat at all cost" to "if it's well maintained it's a great engine, go for it"?

It's an 1992 Thomas with 150k with a 3116 cat with about 70k and an Allison transmission. I do not know if it's a rear engine or not? The seller is asking $4500. Is that a good price?

Anything else a newbie should know about this bus and engine etc? I will continue checking threads in the meantime. Thanks again! PS. I posted a detailed thread in new members titled newbie needs help/counsel

joshjohnson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 03:28 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1984
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International 1753
Engine: 6.9 International
Rated Cap: 65
It's a rear engine.

I'm not a fan of the all black paint job, that'd be terrible for summer heat.