Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-22-2021, 10:51 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

OK... Here Goes: Cat 3120 w/ Allison -- to buy or not to buy?

You can probably tell from the question I am new to this game. I'm not a mechanic so I have no idea what is good and what is not, so here I am.

I have a bus in my sights that simply needs a new radiator - fine. However, is it the right bus for me and my needs? No idea. The body style is exactly what I want.

Engine: Cat 3120 engine (from the current owner's statement)
Trans: Allison (not sure what series, I haven't seen it in person and the owner does not know)
Mileage: 205K
Length: 24'

Outside of the radiator issue, the owner states everything else operates perfectly.

Any suggestions?

SkoolbusLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2021, 11:46 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466e
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
There's no CAT 3120 engine but there is a CAT 3126 which is a good engine. As far as only needing a radiator, I wouldn't trust a seller who doesn't even know what their engine is. Unless you're a mechanic type yourself, you should really start with a bus that is running normally.
Old 01-22-2021, 12:06 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

I appreciate the response.

It seems there are mixed reviews on this engine so I'm looking for a little more clarity.

The gentlemen selling the bus was going to convert it but found something smaller so he's not overly familiar with it either.

I'm about to go look at and will post the results and maybe get a little more clarity on it.

Thank you!
Old 01-22-2021, 02:08 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466e
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
Old 01-22-2021, 03:42 PM   #5
Bus Crazy

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE 40 FEET
Engine: Cummins 8.3
If you know your shoe size get a pair of nike running shoes pronto.