Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-03-2024, 12:16 PM   #1

1996 Thomas RE Cummins throttle issue

I have 96 Thomas and it runs great, it's currently stored in LA and I am in New Mexico. we flew out there to drive it back home, when we started it there was zero throttle response. I know this bus is air throttle and the pressures in my tanks were 110 psi so air pressure isn't a problem, and I noticed that even my air door wouldn't work. it was like I had no air going to the front of the bus. Im new to buses and air system like this so Im not sure if there's an air valve someone could've turned off while in storage to cause this problem or if there is a bigger issue. I'm planning on flying back out there in a couple weeks to fix this issue and drive it back, so I won't be able to send pictures or antything like that. any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Stutters58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2024, 02:33 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1999
Chassis: Amtran / International
Engine: DT466E HT 250HP - Md3060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stutters58 View Post
I have 96 Thomas and it runs great, it's currently stored in LA and I am in New Mexico. we flew out there to drive it back home, when we started it there was zero throttle response. I know this bus is air throttle and the pressures in my tanks were 110 psi so air pressure isn't a problem, and I noticed that even my air door wouldn't work. it was like I had no air going to the front of the bus. Im new to buses and air system like this so Im not sure if there's an air valve someone could've turned off while in storage to cause this problem or if there is a bigger issue. I'm planning on flying back out there in a couple weeks to fix this issue and drive it back, so I won't be able to send pictures or antything like that. any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Are you 100% sure it is air throttled?