Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-17-2018, 02:24 PM   #1
Bus Nut

5.9 vs. 6.7 vs. 8.3

I am finally approaching the $$ goal that I need to buy a pusher...will be looking for a 36 to 40 ft bus with intention of making it full-time live in rv. The dream is to do cross country driving during the summer. I am a teacher, so that is more realistic. I am hoping to find a bus with an Allison 3xxx or switch out to one and be able to actively use the 6th gear without blowing up the engine. There is one model that has a granny first gear, of 6 to 1, which makes towing something more agreeable.

Survey says that the 5.9 would be a little underpowered. From what I have read, using an underpowered engine might result in lower mpg than using a bigger engine that is more suitable for the job, and would reduce the life expectancy of the engine.

Like all of you, I am hoping to maximize fuel efficiency, while having a drive train that will give me reliable service for more than 250K miles. I am also hoping to find an engine that will not break the bank every time I need a new injector or some other part. With those requirements in mind, how do the 6.7 and 8.3 rate? I am guessing that parts for the 6.7 will be higher because it is a newer engine and likely to have more electronic stuff on it. What about use in this application?

My neighbors used to do long haul with an 18 wheeler pulling 50K pounds and got 11 mpg. They did have a manual transmission. Greyhounds cruise up and down I5 in California get get 11 mpg doing highway speeds (per a bus technician). I am hoping to breach the 10 mph limit. Any comments or insights to my random thoughts would be appreciated. I am not committed to a Cummins...but it is the brand name that keeps coming up in my circle. I would like to have an auto tranny with the specs of the Allison 3xxx - I haven't seen another one like it.