Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-30-2021, 01:19 AM   #1
Almost There

Adding a shore power option?

My main source of electric is going to be solar. But when available I want to be able to plugin to shore power.

Any good tutorials that cover options to adding shore power?

So far everything I have seen just adds an AC powered battery charger that connects to the system in place of your solar battery charger.

Is that the common way to do it? Or is there a better way?

Seems like going from AC to battery then back to AC through a inverter is strange. But I am new to this.

RobOfYork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2021, 07:16 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1984
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International 1753
Engine: 6.9 International
Rated Cap: 65
You want an inverter/charger combo unit. When it isn't connected to shore power, it creates the AC voltage you're after, like any normal inverter does. But when you connect to shore power, it transfers the loads onto shore power and then also charges your batteries.

If you already have equipment, then buy a transfer switch of some sort and put it between your inverter and shore power conenctions. They make the switches in both automatic and manual selection.
Old 03-30-2021, 07:21 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International RE
Engine: International T444e
Rated Cap: 76
What inverter are you looking at? Some inverters have all-in-one functionality- inverter, battery charger, automatic transfer switch.

If your inverter is "just an inverter", you can add the battery charger, and then a transfer switch to choose between shore and solar. This is what we do currently- we plug in, then on the inside use a switch to determine where we want our power coming from. Our new inverter which will arrive in the coming weeks has a programmable ATS function.
kazetsukai is offline   Reply With Quote