Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-09-2024, 08:40 PM   #1

Advice on a camper type setup

Hey everyone, bought a bus and in beginning stages of building (I still need to upload pics to my intro thread). So basically ended up with a 2004 Blue Bird with a CAT C7, it's about 36' bumper to bumper.

I have a decent understanding on electrical systems and how they work. I am not a electrician by any means, but can run wire and install a basic system. And that is what I am here for, some assistance with a basic system.

So here is my goal: Our bus will be used as a camper. We will be taking it to campgrounds and using shore power. I have no interest in solar at this time. I plan on wiring for a 50 amp shore power setup. What I am wanting to set up is a power system that will run a fridge and some basic electronics while driving (TV, charging phones, etc.) and when we reach our destination, plug into shore power, which will then run a couple window AC units and water pump/heater, cooking, etc.

I have a 3 battery bank already on the bus, with 2 in there for starting/engine. I have space for a third. I guess what I'm wondering is what makes the most sense to accomplish what I am after? Until I get a fridge, I guess I won't know what is needed for that, but assume a mid-size residential fridge/freezer? And I guess assume say an 8 hour road trip?

I'm already planning on an inverter/charger that will switch from battery to shore. Guess I'm just a little lost on what would be ideal for this scenario. Any input is greatly appreciated! Thank you so much in advance!

IApartsguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2024, 02:15 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1986
Coachwork: Crown
Chassis: Supercoach
Engine: Cummins 350 big cam
Rated Cap: 86 passengers?