Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-10-2019, 07:29 AM   #1
Skoolie

Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: Cat C7
Are My Batteries Toast?

When I got my bus ('05 FS65, Cat C7), I knew one battery tested bad. After sitting for a while it wouldn't turn over. I pulled the bad battery and replaced it. Started right up. Voltmeter on the dash read 14.1 while running. It all seemed good. The bus sat for a while more, and yesterday wouldn't even try to turn over. I put the multimeter on the batteries and it read around 8 volts.

Questions:
I have three Group 31 batteries. Is that optimum?
Should I pull each battery and test individually?
Are my batteries toast and need replacement?

I am going to try to determine if there is a parasitic draw (I'm totally new to this). Any advice or comments are welcome.

Joe

TeacherJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 07:41 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeacherJoe View Post
When I got my bus ('05 FS65, Cat C7), I knew one battery tested bad. After sitting for a while it wouldn't turn over. I pulled the bad battery and replaced it. Started right up. Voltmeter on the dash read 14.1 while running. It all seemed good. The bus sat for a while more, and yesterday wouldn't even try to turn over. I put the multimeter on the batteries and it read around 8 volts.

Questions:

I am going to try to determine if there is a parasitic draw (I'm totally new to this). Any advice or comments are welcome.

Joe
If you have one bad battery the rest will go bad in short order.
I run 2 g31's. Some run 3 in colder climates. I've never had any issues starting any bus with even one.
I'd buy a couple brand new batteries and start fresh.
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 07:50 AM   #3
Skoolie

Quote: