Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-29-2016, 01:37 AM   #1

Battery bank and charging questions. Help please

Okay, so I'm going to cut to the chase and keep a long story short.

My friend and I are going to be converting 2 short busses and each building the same battery bank/electrical charge set up. Once we convert our buses we will travel the country in them.

However, we don't really know crud about wattage/watt hours/a power/dc power plus probably some others I'm not thinking of.

This is what we want. (Some of this info may be vague or redundant, I'm not a pro at this.)

1. A battery bank of 10, 12v deep cycle batteries. Maybe smaller battery banks instead and split thr power usage amung needed appliances and luxaries.
We want this battery bank to be our main source of power. Lights, fridge, water tank, small tv, plug ins, all the works you need for day to day electricity. Lots of camping so have to be able to run a good stereo system at times.

2. We want our solar panals to charge our battery bank and just our battery bank. The sun shall charge us when there is sun.

3. When we run our generator, we want it to not only run our necessary appliances and outlets, but we also want it to charge our battery bank. However we have no idea how to wire it to do that.

4. We want our shore power to do the same as the generator. Power everything in the bus, (because shore power is endless lol) whIle also charging our battery bank. But we have the same issue as we don't know how to wire it.

So basically, we don't know how to make our battery bank send out power, while also being able to receive power. I don't want to make a surge and have the two colide. Don't feel like blowing up.