Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-27-2020, 06:10 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Battery Bank Limit?

I'm currently in the middle of a build and purchasing the 400w solar kit from Renogy. They make no mention of how many batteries they suggest and from researching the issue, there's no answer. Sorry for possibly being a complete noob here but is there any limit to how many batteries I can connect to my setup?

Framus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2020, 06:35 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas Built
Chassis: Minotour
Engine: Chevy Express 3500 6.6l
Based on your panel output, figuring optimal conditions of 5 sun-hours per day with perfect angle of incidence, you’ll be able to generate about 166Ah/day.

How much you store depends on how much of that you use, so start there. Make an energy budget. To do that, collect the wattage and how many hours per day you’ll use of your various electronics. This will get you Amp-hours per day.

Example

LED lights 10 light string at 9W each for 5 hours a day

10x9x5=450Wh

Convert to Amp-hours (assuming 12 Volt system)

450/12=37.5Ah

You’ll also want to figure in Days Of Autonomy. It seems like most calculations use 3 days in case you have poor sun for 3 days. So in the example above you’d want to store 112 Ah to run that string of lights.

When considering battery capacity, for lead acid batteries like AGMs, you’ll want to only use 50% of the battery capacity. So using that same example above you’d want to have a capacity of 225Ah
Danjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2020, 06:41 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danjo View Post
Based on your panel output, figuring optimal conditions of 5 sun-hours per day with perfect angle of incidence, you’ll be able to generate about 166Ah/day.