Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-04-2018, 06:11 PM   #1

Year: 2001
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: Flat Nose
Engine: Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Battery Help!

Ok so maybe you guys can help me out. I've been prowling the internet for hours looking for the answer and I've come out more confused than I started...

I am converting a 2001 Bluebird and doing this in TINY steps (as our budget allows) I've been boon-docking it for a couple years now without power and now I am able to add some solar to the bus. All I need to electricity for is charging laptops, phones, tablets, running some lights and an electric stove-top. We're talking 4,400Wh/day TOPS. Eventually (ie in a few years) we'll want to take that up to around 15,000Wh/day. When we add the fridge, washer, etc.

I'm looking for some advice on how to do this in stages. Do I want to get all the solar panels now and only get a few batteries? Do I want to get only 1-2 panels now and the batteries, etc to match that? I imagine I'll want to get the inverter and charge controller to match my future energy consumption, is this correct?

My thought was to get 4 Mono 280W panels now and I can ad 2 more later. BUT if I do this, do I need to get the batteries to match the 4 panels? and HOW do I figure out if I need 12V, 24V, or 48V? I KNOW that I can live off of only 200ah and be just fine, but I just don't know where to go from here.

Also, where has everyone been getting their batteries? I cannot afford Lithium unless I find one for less than $1,000 to suit my needs.

GypsyRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 06:34 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1998
Coachwork: MCI
Chassis: 102 EL3
Engine: DD 60
To whom are we speaking?? Add a signature please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GypsyRain View Post