Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-25-2020, 01:21 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1996
Engine: DT466E Diesel
Battery Problems-Wait to Start Doesn’t Come On.

So a few weeks back. I had a no engine start problem. Turned the key to just get a solid flick. Had a buddy come over, he replaced some of the battery terminals and connectors and it fired up. Now fast forward a few weeks I brought my battery In after forgetting to unplug it. They charged it up, yaddiyadiyah. I go to start the bus up and same problem as last time. I went below deck, plugged the battery in but still the same problem. Click. No waiting to start, no crank, nothing. Battery measured at 12 volts though. My question is. In my battery box I have 2 cables on the positive side, 1 is most definitely the ground strap. Now I’m a novice and only dealt with this on cars. But do I connect both the positive and the ground to the terminal? It is quite a tight squeeze in the battery box plus getting both on the terminal. Is this how you are supposed to do it? I’m not trying to ruin my battery.
Attached Thumbnails
790AE870-4D52-4397-972B-92A3DACF5959.jpg   A29A2284-705D-4C3D-ACC1-598C17DFD385.jpg  

BabztheBus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 07:27 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by BabztheBus View Post
But do I connect both the positive and the ground to the terminal?
I am not sure if it is your wording ? terminal should be terminals, plural.

The positive goes on the +(red) terminal and the -(black) terminal.
ACamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 07:39 AM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1984
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International 1753
Engine: 6.9 International
Rated Cap: 65
Most buses have the batteries on a tray that can slide out of the box. See if your's does, that will get you more space to work.