Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-20-2017, 03:06 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Thomas Built
Chassis: Safe-T-Liner MVP EF
Engine: 12v Cummins 5.9
Rated Cap: 84
Brake light switch 97 Thomas MVP

I'm guessing this is the right group to put this in. My MVP doesn't have brake lights anymore and I have been trying to trace wires to a switch but have had no luck. Found the wire that goes to the brake lights and can make them work from all the way to the harness by the distribution center but have had no luck finding a switch. Help please and thank you in advance

bmartin194 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 05:15 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
Welcome bmartin194

I'm no electrician but that sounds like a bad fuse or breaker. On the other hand that's the first thing you'd likely check.

Other more electrical minded individuals will pitch in when they find this thread.
Old 03-20-2017, 05:36 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Thank you. I have checked all the fuses and breakers I know to check that's why I'm thinking it's a switch but am having trouble tracking it down. Been an auto mechanic and offshore mechanic all my life. I have seen a switch on the brake valve but there is no power going to it and the wires do not match the closet wire in the harness that go back to the brake lights. I don't think it goes through the turn signal switch like most vehicles since the brake lights are separate.
Old 03-20-2017, 06:58 PM   #4
Bus Geek

I'm no help electrically. If it goes beyond a '65 Ford PU wiring, I'm lost. I fuss with electrical problems for weeks and finally have to spend to get it fixed, but even then I learn something.

I'm still hoping some of the others will lend their electrical expertise. While you're waiting I'd suggest reading other current electrical issue threads and get to know who the electrical minded people are.