Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-18-2022, 07:01 AM   #1

Breakers and Fuses help

Hello everyone,
I am an amateur and have done a lot of research. Iíve seen many diagram etc and I could just copy the diagram for my own build but I want to understand the system more than just install it. So hereís what Iím working with:

4 100w solar panels in parallel
60A PWM charge controller
2 200AH 12 V lead acid batteries in parallel
DC Breaker box

I will not run any AC loads off this system. If, down there road, I want to install that I will devise a completely separate system.

My question regards the terminal fuse. For the most part, I understand fusing I think. Protect the wire and devices from too much power.

So I will install:
40A breaker between the panels and charge controller
60A breaker between the battery and charge controller
60A breaker between battery and 12V fuse block (likely)

I will also have a switch coming off the battery to be able to stop power down the whole system.

I have seen on many diagrams a terminal fuse directly on the battery, I for the life of me canít find a description of the reasoning behind this. Maybe this is a stupid question but can someone please explain its purpose.

And if youíd like to give any feedback on my proposed plan there I would appreciate it. I havenít bought the wires for this yet, so I understand itís certainly not a complete picture of the system.

Newbusguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2022, 09:20 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 2003
Coachwork: IC / Amtran
Chassis: CE300
Engine: International T444e
Rated Cap: 23
Hello!