Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-14-2021, 03:27 PM   #1

Year: 2009
Coachwork: International
Chassis: International CE
Engine: MaxForce DT
Bus Gage Voltage high and alarms

I recently installed a battery isolator into my Skoolie to charge the house batteries while driving. It worked well right out of the box. I then ran into an issue where the Voltage gage on the dash would spin to the max, beep once, and then the warning light goes on.

I plugged into shore power, got some charge on the house batteries and the voltage went back to normal. The weird thing is, if I disconnect the house batteries the voltage indicator goes to max and throws the light on. I uninstalled the isolator thinking maybe it was part of the issue, and it was still at max voltage with the warning light. I disconnected the bus batteries hoping to reset the computer, and that didn't work. I'm not an expert with DC and I'm not sure what else I should try. My only solution at this point is to not let the house batteries die. It just seems odd that the bus needs the house batteries connected or else the voltage indicator will go crazy.

Any ideas out there. My volt meter shows just over 14 volts at the house and bus batteries regardless of the two being connected or not.

knightrunner10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2021, 04:28 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: Front Engine
Engine: DT466E
Rated Cap: 72
I think you have to see if the voltage reading is real with a meter. It sounds like you could have a wacky ground problem but it’s tough to say. If you can consistently create the problem it may be a good idea to see if you can measure the voltage at the bus fuse panel to see if it’s really high or if the dash is losing its mind.