Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-27-2023, 11:31 AM   #1

Charging issues

Absolute newbie so any help is much appreciated.
I have set up a small system in a van, 200w solar panel, 100AH lithium battery, 20A dc/dc charger, PWM solar controller.
On testing neither the solar panel or the DC/DC are charging the battery
The battery does charge with a NOCO plug in charger.
If I attach the plug in charger to the cables from the DC/DC or the solar controller in both cases the battery charges so I have ruled out the wiring
The solar panel is putting out around 20v in the sun but the PWM just stays in float mode even though set for a lifepo battery
Around 14v is going into the DC/DC charger but no charge is showing in the battery app (renogy)
I've disconnected/reconnected everything umpteen times
The 12v circuit and 240v through an inverter are all running happily off of the battery and the shore connection.
Any suggestions? Getting desperate!

nicklee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2023, 12:48 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 2003
Coachwork: IC / Amtran
Chassis: CE300
Engine: International T444e
Rated Cap: 23
Unless there was some electrical event that caused damage to both the DC/DC charger and the SCC at the same time (did anything occur that you can see potentially causing such damage?), it's highly unlikely they both failed at the same time.

Is this a system that was working as expected (as personally experienced by you) and then suddenly stopped charging, or is this your first exposure to it so you don't know whether it ever worked properly or not? If the former, has anything at all changed between the time it was working properly & now?

What voltage (resting) is your battery at when you expect to see it charging but do not?

Our Build: Mr. Beefy
TheHubbardBus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2023, 09:53 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1999