Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-16-2018, 07:40 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Critique my noob Solar Setup (Diagram)

Hey all,

I am a noob and this is my first attempt at drawing my soon-to-be electrical setup as I am getting started on it this week.

I am sure there are some errors but I did my best and it'd be great if you could take a look!

Before you look I will repeat myself: I'm a massive noob. This is my first attempt lol

https://image.ibb.co/mZQGP7/Bus_electrical_system_1.jpg

couple of things:
1) I understand that ground wires should be attached to the frame of the bus. But with which wires and also how would you do it?

2) I don't know what size circuit breakers I should be using but I drew them on the diagram where I think they will be going.

3) Do negative wires also go to load centers or just positive?

Let me know your thoughts. Thanks!!

Jeremyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 06:33 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1998
Coachwork: MCI
Chassis: 102 EL3
Engine: DD 60
Looks ok to me. Appears you are wiring the panels in series and the 6VDC batteries in series (12VDC bank). The 1500 watt inverter might be a bit overkill for the battery bank which is probably around 220 Ah. It will work though. Ideally you would have a good quality battery monitor so you know that state and can take care of them. No provision for shore power??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremyc View Post
1) I understand that ground wires should be attached to the frame of the bus. But with which wires and also how would you do it?