Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-12-2017, 11:04 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: Cummins 5.9 Allison AT545
Rated Cap: 71
Handy Bob Solar

Hey yall!
I'm about to start my electrical budget, which I THINK means I first need to figure out how many watts I expect I'll use. Then figure out how many solar panels I'll need and batteries, and the other equipment like battery monitors and charge controllers.

Now, I recently found Handy Bob Solar's RV Battery Charging Puzzle:
https://handybobsolar.wordpress.com/...ging-puzzle-2/

I read the whole thing. Took like 5 hours. I am not an electrician. I am new to all of this. But I intend to learn so I know every bolt and wire in my Skoolie. When I found this Puzzle I was honestly relieved, because I had been highballing it and he seemed to relieve some of that mania. I've seen people share his Puzzle here and there, so I'm getting the impression he's legit and not blowing hot air.

So I wanna ask: yall think his advice is legit? Good advice? Good methods? Can I rely on what I learn there?

He mentioned that the wattage or amp hours of many appliances are set as so they don't EXCEED said amount, not the amount they actually pull. So as long as I stay within the max pull on my allowance, I should be good, right? Also assuming I use thick wires, keep the controller close to the batteries and panels, ect. Am I understanding things correctly?

I feel like my current issue is that I'm studying and doing my homework, but I have no one to check my homework lol So I come to the forum!!

I can see myself in my bus already... it's a ways off but all I gotta do is sell my car and I'll have the money... I'm excited and undaunted.

DreamWeaverBus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 11:15 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1990
Coachwork: Crown, integral. (With 2kW of tiltable solar)