Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-09-2017, 09:49 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1997
Help Greatly Needed-Shore/Gen Power Wiring Info

Hello All!!

I am attempting to wire my bus this weekend and after reading for what seems like forever now, I am still completely lost.

Let me preface by saying, NO...I am NO electrician. I am actually quite ignorant to all of it and it is like Chinese to me mind. So many of this may seem stupid or simple to you that understand, but I am quite simply trying to utilize this amazing site for help and appreciate any advice or tips you have and apologize for my lack of understanding on the subject.

With that said: This is my goal. I am converting my Thomas Vista 3600 in Delaware( where my parents live) and traveling back to San Diego, CA (where I live) after to do small work and upgrades and travel quite a bit. I've decided for the journey out and for the first 2 months I will run off Shore electric and a Generator until I can save and convert the entire system to Solar. (It's MUCH cheaper to do in Southern California than here!)

I ran "regular" 10 house wire for my outlets and light switch. I have a water pump that I know has to be hooked up to a deep cycle battery and I know I need an AC breaker box. Outside of that I am lost. I have purchased the exterior inlet for shore power and the hook-up cord but am unsure of what to do for the next step.

What are the other components I need to complete this system? (Like all the parts, for I am totally clueless). What is the most simple way to wire since I will be changing the system soon in a few months. Can I purchase just a simple RV power center to run and convert my 12v house battery and then be good to go?