Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-04-2017, 08:43 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Help switching sources

Hey everyone! I wanted to first thank everyone here for their time and efforts in sharing information to get people into their own conversion. I am not an electrician (as the rest of my post will illuminate), but I've been reading a ton and am getting a better handle on electrical systems.

My question is about manual source switching without breaking the bank. My vision is a 4PDT switch that I can select between shore and inverter power for my 120v system. This may be crazy talk, but I'm looking to run everything 120v (exception maybe water pump). Searching, I can't find a switch with a high enough rating, so I am probably barking up the wrong tree. Someone posted a picture somewhere with a lightswitch that seemed to be doing something similar to what I want, but I don't see those rated high enough either! I'll attach a simple diagram with what I'm trying to accomplish

Edit: looking a little further, I found some 4 pole double throw safety switches in an appropriate rating on ebay, those look like they'd do the trick? the price is right, anyway.

czoesq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 10:34 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Just the two of us.
A charger/inverter will do it automatically. It will charge batteries when plugged in to shore power or using generator.
somewhereinusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 10:49 AM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhereinusa View Post
A charger/inverter will do it automatically. It will charge batteries when plugged in to shore power or using generator.