Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2024, 06:15 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2024
Posts: 3
help with circuit breaker box please

Hello all,

I'm having issues with my circuit breaker box and am not sure what the problem is. I've got my solar panels hooked up, my inverter connected to the battery, and shore power goes to the inverter without any problem. The inverter is able to supply power from the battery bank without problem as well. The issue is when I have the ac output wires from the inverter connected to the circuit breaker box. When connected, the gfi at the outlet supplying the shore power trips. I've confirmed the voltage of the output wires is 120v. I have tried both of the red circled areas for the hot wire, and have attached the negative wire to the white circled lug. The top ground wire goes to one of the metal ribs on the side of the bus. The bottom ground wire is the one coming from the inverter. The main breaker is a 100 amp breaker and I chatted with the maker of the box when I was trouble shooting how to add a main breaker and they said that the box did not need a ground bar and negative side bars could be used for the ground. I appreciate any help you all can give.
Attached Thumbnails
circuit breaker .jpg  

iceman341 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2024, 06:29 PM   #2
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,361
Year: 1990
Coachwork: Crown, integral. (With 2kW of tiltable solar)
Chassis: Crown Supercoach II (rear engine)
Engine: Detroit 6V92TAC, DDEC 2, Jake brake, Allison HT740
Rated Cap: 37,400 lbs GVWR
Buy a cheapo outlet tester and check that the bus's AC wiring is correct first. Home Despot sells one for $12.97 that checks regular and GFCI outlets.

John
Iceni John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2024, 07:43 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2024
Posts: 3
I probably did a poor job explaining things in my post. The shore power is coming from an outlet in my garage, through an extension cord, to an extension cord - 30 amp cord, to the shore power outlet on the side of the bus, and then to the ac input on the inverter. The outlet in the garage has a garage freezer also plugged into it. I tested a different outlet/circuit that didn't have an extra load such as a freezer, and the gfi tripped again. If the wires are not connected to my ac circuit breaker that I installed then nothing trips with the shore power outlets and the inverter recognizes the shore power input and behaves accordingly (charges the battery, supplies 120v power to the ac outlet lines). So the issue is something within my circuit breaker box that I'm trying to install.
iceman341 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2024, 08:17 PM   #4
Bus Crazy
 
DeMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,566
Coachwork: Integrated Coach Corp.
Chassis: RE-300 42ft
Engine: 466ci
Rated Cap: 90
⚡Grounding, Bonding & Conductors⚡

Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman341 View Post
Hello all,

I'm having issues with my circuit breaker box and am not sure what the problem is. I've got my solar panels hooked up, my inverter connected to the battery, and shore power goes to the inverter without any problem. The inverter is able to supply power from the battery bank without problem as well. The issue is when I have the ac output wires from the inverter connected to the circuit breaker box. When connected, the gfi at the outlet supplying the shore power trips. I've confirmed the voltage of the output wires is 120v. I have tried both of the red circled areas for the hot wire, and have attached the negative wire to the white circled lug. The top ground wire goes to one of the metal ribs on the side of the bus. The bottom ground wire is the one coming from the inverter. The main breaker is a 100 amp breaker and I chatted with the maker of the box when I was trouble shooting how to add a main breaker and they said that the box did not need a ground bar and negative side bars could be used for the ground. I appreciate any help you all can give.

------------------
Standard garage receptacles ought to be 20A rated GFCI protected. The 30A rated receptacles look totally different. Are you plugged into the dryer receptacle?

The panel shown in your post does NOT have a Ground bar installed. There are two Neutral bars (vertical) bonded vis the bar where you've circled a terminal in white.

You're attempting to terminate the White Neutrals (aka: Grounded Conductor) AND the bare Copper Ground(s) to the Neutral Bus, thereby bonding the two. Also. #12/2UF is not 100A/3-conductor service cable. Use a smaller breaker & larger three conductor(+ground) feeder wire, secured with a cable connector.

Short Answer:
Yes, the White Neutral belongs under the lug circled in white. Bare grounds, do not. Doing so creates a Ground Fault.

Buy & add a Ground bar (also, pick up Cable Connectors, Bare #8or#6 Cu & a Ground lug). Separate the Grounds & Neutrals. Secure the feeder cable to the box via cable connectors. The Bare #8 bonds the new Gnd bar to vehicle chassis. Should look similar to this:⤵


Instructions for adding a ground bar can be found starting at
Post #61 of my Electrical Rough-In thread. Use the same brand ground bar as the panel brand, for easy installation. Please read the entire thread. I've answered many questions which haven't even been asked. I hope the information you discover therein helps you to build safely
__________________
Ceiling: Framing & Electrical Rough-in
Convert Hatch to AC & Roof Patch
🇺🇸 Frederick Douglass: "If there is no struggle, there is no progress.”
DeMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2024, 10:10 AM   #5
Bus Geek
 
brokedown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Weeki Wachee, FL
Posts: 3,056
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: Cummins 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
Would help to know what inverter you had as well. not all of them properly separate ground and neutral!
__________________
Keep up with us and our build!
Follow us on Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, and Twitter
brokedown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2024, 08:13 AM   #6
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2024
Posts: 3
I separated the ground and neutral wires and everything is all good now. I figured out that I had to run an additional hot wire to the other side of the main breaker as well because only half of my circuit breakers had power with just the one wire. I appreciate all the help and I'll likely be asking for more as my next task is placing all the outlets and setting up the circuits.
iceman341 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.