Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-09-2021, 12:19 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2000
Chassis: Chevy
Angry I Had a fire in my bus.

So, I've got a 2000 GMC Express bus (van), diesel - 4 windows - small. It runs great, except...

After not having driven it for about 3 weeks, the fuse box above the driver seat caught fire. Everything within that contained space was lit aflame, and the entire bus smells like burnt wires and is covered with soot. The fuse box that does to the actual motor is ok, and I honestly think If I stuck the batteries back in it would start, but I took them out for safety.

I'm not an electrician. I don't know where to start. I'm in Wichita, Kansas now and I would love any kind of advice. I know that many folks just take out that fuse box...

please advise.

link to video of damage: https://www.instagram.com/p/CMsnqhahsfL/

SpoonLady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 12:26 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1954
Coachwork: wayne
Chassis: old f500- new 2005 f-450
Engine: cummins 12 valve
Rated Cap: 20? five rows of 4?
Spoon lady

I am in Topeka. Would you please telephone me. I could write for a couple of hours. And give you the same information in 30 minutes.

William 785 207 7600
magnakansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 12:28 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Chassis: Chevy
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnakansas View Post
I am in Topeka. Would you please telephone me. I could write for a couple of hours. And give you the same information in 30 minutes.

William 785 207 7600
Yes, this evening when I'm home! I appreciate it very much.
I feel very confused right now.
Abby

Link to video of damage: https://www.instagram.com/p/CMsnqhahsfL/
SpoonLady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2021, 03:16 PM   #4
Bus Crazy

Year: 1990
Coachwork: Thomas 4 window w/lift
Chassis: G30~Chevy cutaway
Engine: 5.7/350 Chevy Vortec