Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-19-2020, 09:15 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 2002
Chassis: Van
Engine: 5.7L Gas
Inverter to Wall Outlets

I am wondering about AC wiring to wall outlets. I have a 1200W inverter with 2 outlet plugs and no option to hard wire 120 AC to my 4 desired wall outlets. I am completely new to electrical stuff and I want to make sure I have it planned out correctly before purchasing the material I need.

1. Is there a good way to go from the 2 inverter outlets to my 4 wall outlets. Is it as simple as running extension cords through the wall and splicing/ wiring each cord to 2 outlets?

2. Is there specific AC cable I need to get? Do I need to be careful to not accidentally buy DC cable? The reason I am confused is because I read that I would want 12/2 cable since I am running single phase 120V. However sometimes when I look up 12/2 I see just a hot and a nuetral or ground wire. Other times 12/2 means three wires (hot, neutral, and ground). I bought 12/3 wire off of amazon which is 3 wires (hot, neutral, and ground). Is that 12/3 just labeled wrong and should be 12/2 or am I misunderstanding something? It seems like when discussing DC 12/2 is 2 cables and when discussing AC 12/2 is 3 cables. This makes me wonder if the 12/3 I bought is actually for DC and I shouldn't use it for AC.

3. Stranded cable is preferred for both AC and DC applications within a moving vehicle, is that correct?

4. If I go with 2 plug outlets at each of my 4 desired locations is it fine to run one 12/2 cable and splice it at outlet to both plugs? I know I will only be able to run each outlet at 10A if they are both plugged in. Is there any issues with doing it this way?

Sorry for the long post! Hopefully I will continue to gain a better understanding of both AC and DC wiring.

mitchk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 11:17 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2007