Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-19-2022, 05:10 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Smile New to solar, appreciate any help

Hi, I've been researching solar for the past 10 months and really just need some humans with experience to talk to before making some purchases.
I have a 15 passenger bus with no appliances. I do have a bunch of music gear and plan on using the bus to record in and play shows out of.

I have decided to go with 24v for plenty of reasons, seen enough discussion about it to feel good about this. I don't own anything that uses 12v, and the bus already has two 12v car batteries. Regarding that, my first question is can I hook up the alternator to the lifepo4 batteries I'm buying to top them off while driving? Saw something about that early in my research, lost track of it tho. Does that only work with 12v?

Since I record music, I am also concerned about noise from the inverter. I understand that some are much quieter than others, and would like to hear from some experience.

My remaining questions are just looking for assurance that I'm making the right purchases.

Here are the items from my current shopping list:

Daly BMS 8s 24v 100a: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...3YLLYB17&psc=1

Voltworks 24v 2000W pure sine wave inverter: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...KII65IAA&psc=1

EPEVER MPPT 30a: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...U6LSCEIG&psc=1

Renogy flexible solar panel 175W 12V: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...KIKX0DER&psc=1

Ok, so I'm getting at least 2 of the panels, maybe 3 or 4. Will add more later if needed. I know I should have at least 2 in series, but would 3 in series for 36v going to the MPPT work? Or do I need 4 to stay at 24v? I thought I read that the MPPT will work mor eefficiently with a higher voltage coming in.