Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-06-2021, 02:37 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1984
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC 2000
Engine: Detroit Diesel
Smile Newbie general electrical help??

Hi guys! My names Bay and I'm relatively new to the bus life,, well er, the idea of it. I haven't gone about buying a bus yet (still looking), but in the meantime I'm spending my time between classes doing LOTS and LOTS of research.

I've bought a few things and made a good old fashioned finance list for everything else I have yet to buy (appliances, important miscellaneous things, plumbing etc) and ultimately I've gotten everything in order but any of the electrical. So far I have 800Ah of batteries (4 200Ah lithium phosphate batteries) as well as 1,500W of solar pannels (4 375W panels). But anything else pretty much has me stumped.

I get the idea that I'll need a pure sine wave inverter, battery charger, some sort of breaker box??, and a battery monitor but I'm not clear on any of it.

I'm also struggling to properly calculate my amp and watt consumption. Every time I think I'm doing it correctly, something just doesn't make sense.

For further context, I am a full time student and will be for the next few years so having a proper pc computer set up will be key. I also plan to include an apartment sized fridge, washer/dryer combo, wall heater, and a small window unit ac. Other minor large outputs would possibly be a spare 28" monitor/tv and a PlayStation. Of course these wont be used as much as everything else but still thought I'd note it.