Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-02-2021, 01:01 PM   #1

Off Grid Solar Design! I'd love your $0.02 Here.

My wife and I are building out our first skoolie and are intending to spend a year or two traveling the country with remote jobs. Super excited!

Here is the info on the bus:
2004 International FE300 DT466. 35' long. Roof raised 16". Keeping most if not all of the bus windows, but covering and insulating some. R6 subfloor and spray foam walls and ceiling.

We are right at the stage where we need to make some big decisions on the electrical system and solar setup. I'm a home builder and she's a HS science teacher, so we're not total dummies, but by no means are we electricians, and we want to make sure we get this right.
That said, we have gotten a decent idea of our power needs, so we have a loose framework and could use help figuring out exactly what components, sizes, and ratings we need to work with when it comes to the battery bank, solar array, gauge wires, MPPT, and inverter.

As for usage, we're wanting to be able to live off grid as best we can for as long as we can, and we would love to have the ability to run AC on sunny days, and possibly light AC through the night on eco mode. The Pioneer mini split we're looking at (12,000 BTU) will pull 800-900 watts continuous with a slow start, and the Pioneer rep we talked with recommended at least 1,200 watts of solar.
Here are the major appliances, and you can imagine all of the other small things like charging phones, laptops, etc. If we're boondocking, we would be pretty economical with most of the following (ie the wife probably won't be running a hair straightener as much in the woods).