Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2021, 01:33 PM   #1
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Toledo OH
Posts: 225
Year: 2006
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: MVP-EF
Engine: Cat C7 + Allison MD3060
Passenger side power outlets - wire routing?

I've been poking around the search trying to find threads on this but haven't quite figured it out yet...


Trying to brainstorm a path for wiring for AC and DC power outlets on the passenger side of the bus. All of my power distribution will be on the driver's side, and I don't plan to tear out my ceiling (I know, violating the skoolie.net commandments). My floor will likely be 1/2" XPS + 1/2" plywood to save ceiling height, which means I don't quite have enough room to run 1/2" EMT underneath the plywood.


Any creative suggestions? Should I special order 3/4" XPS instead of doing the 1/2"? Run conduit underneath the bus (sounds like a real PITA)? Curious how others have tackled this. The only real reason I need outlets on the passenger side is to provide power for the actual passengers' electronic devices.

dbsoundman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 01:44 PM   #2
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 2,413
Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas Built
Chassis: Minotour
Engine: Chevy Express 3500 6.6l
Shouldn’t be hard to run some pvc conduit on the underside up against a crossmember and the floor. I’d to it that way.

I think technically that’s supposed to be rigid conduit

Use some galvanized pipe straps and self tapping metal Tek screws
Danjo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 01:48 PM   #3
Bus Geek
 
musigenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 6,075
Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466e
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
Lowe's carries 3/4" XPS, shouldn't have to special-order it. Ironically, though, last year I had to order 3/4" XPS for curbside pickup three times because the first two times they kept bringing out 1/2" to my bus.
__________________
Rusty 87 build thread
musigenesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 01:51 PM   #4
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Northern California (Sacramento)
Posts: 504
Year: 1999
Coachwork: El Dorado Fiberglass
Chassis: Ford E450
Engine: V10 Gas
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsoundman View Post
I've been poking around the search trying to find threads on this but haven't quite figured it out yet...


Trying to brainstorm a path for wiring for AC and DC power outlets on the passenger side of the bus. All of my power distribution will be on the driver's side, and I don't plan to tear out my ceiling (I know, violating the skoolie.net commandments). My floor will likely be 1/2" XPS + 1/2" plywood to save ceiling height, which means I don't quite have enough room to run 1/2" EMT underneath the plywood.


Any creative suggestions? Should I special order 3/4" XPS instead of doing the 1/2"? Run conduit underneath the bus (sounds like a real PITA)? Curious how others have tackled this. The only real reason I need outlets on the passenger side is to provide power for the actual passengers' electronic devices.
Mine is a Shuttle so might not exactly apply. My shore power inlet is on the driver's side and my power equipment is all on the passenger side next to the rear handicapped door, so I have the same issue.

I'm running all 120 VAC in conduit where it dips under the bus to cross over, and using surface mound wiremold where I can't get behind the wall in places.
Rucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 02:16 PM   #5
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: topeka kansas
Posts: 1,054
Year: 1954
Coachwork: wayne
Chassis: old f500- new 2005 f-450
Engine: cummins 12 valve
Rated Cap: 20? five rows of 4?
Use surface mount

Wire runs or wire chases.... just surface mount. Up over across the roof. Or a loop. Across the front or rear. There is also the option of under the floor and up...
William
magnakansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 02:25 PM   #6
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 794
Year: 1993
Chassis: IH 3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 66
Hole saw through the floor... go under the body using stranded 12awg wire for the AC runs and what ever size is needed for the DC runs. Loom the wire (or run it in conduit) and secure it to the body using proper mounts. I use stainless cushion clamps (stainless strap with rubber liner and single bolt hole for mounting). They come in different diameters.


Be sure that your runs are fused/breakered on the driver's side close to the source.
Mr4btTahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 03:33 PM   #7
Bus Nut
 
DeMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Florida
Posts: 521
Coachwork: Integrated Coach Corp.
Chassis: RE-300 42ft
Engine: 466ci
Rated Cap: 90
Measure the radius where the pipe or the LB becomes horizontal.

1/2" emt is just the trade size, it is not 1/2"OD. 7/8" is the KO size, OD is more like 13/16". Straps (which, "shall be used") also have a thickness.

If you do run 120v on the underside, choose wire methods & materials which are appv'd for exposed, outdoor use and physically protected (ie Use Conduit.) No exposed wires. Even if you have to mount a jbox to the the underside of the floor (at both ends). Change back on the other side. Normal. Often, necessary.
I'm with Danjo, on the rigid or schedule 80 pvc. Bus bottom, one stick.

As William suggested, a hollow framed, decorative arch would provide a lovely chase. Pex, wires, condenser lines....
__________________
Frederick Douglass:
"Freedom is a road seldom traveled by the multitude."
DeMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 08:37 PM   #8
Bus Crazy
 
kazetsukai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Flemingsburg, KY
Posts: 1,443
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International RE
Engine: International T444e
Rated Cap: 76
I put a run inside the ribs...

#regret


If doing now I'd drill a hole in the floor.
EDIT: Need to read up a bit on this...
kazetsukai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 08:56 PM   #9
Bus Nut
 
DeMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Florida
Posts: 521
Coachwork: Integrated Coach Corp.
Chassis: RE-300 42ft
Engine: 466ci
Rated Cap: 90
---Member's post of SO reference has been delete edited--

Article 400.8 actually "bans" SO from being run inside racways (conduit) or from being used in place of permanent wiring.

Flexible cords and cables takes up seven pages and comprises more than half of Art. 400


Please, don't simply believe me, read it here:
https://www.ecmweb.com/national-elec...d-fixture-wire


If anyone already has SO buried in your build, idk, carry the burden or fix it.

(----------Edited after post #10
Kaz, No firm opinion, on mobile, solid(ac) or stranded(dc). Maybe core vs surface electron travel. Braided for lightning or dc gnd. The wire ought not flex, rub and bounce around. "Secured" is defined.

RV Slide-outs, yes. vanity drawer-receptical, sinkerator cord w/ plug....
__________________
Frederick Douglass:
"Freedom is a road seldom traveled by the multitude."
DeMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 09:05 PM   #10
Bus Crazy
 
kazetsukai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Flemingsburg, KY
Posts: 1,443
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International RE
Engine: International T444e
Rated Cap: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeMac View Post
Article 400.8 actually "bans" SO from being run inside conduit or from being used in place of permanent wiring.
Whoa. I know SO is used in our 5th wheel for the slide-out, I guess that's the "Connection of moving parts" exception.

What are your thoughts on stranded versus solid for mobile applications?
kazetsukai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 10:33 PM   #11
Skoolie
 
Tejon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 236
Year: 1990
Chassis: Crown Supercoach
Engine: Detroit 6-71TA, 10 sp.
Rated Cap: 90 (40')
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazetsukai View Post
I put a run inside the ribs...

#regret
Just curious, why the regret? Seems like a pretty good use of an existing pathway to me.
Tejon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 07:12 AM   #12
Bus Crazy
 
kazetsukai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Flemingsburg, KY
Posts: 1,443
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International RE
Engine: International T444e
Rated Cap: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejon7 View Post
Just curious, why the regret? Seems like a pretty good use of an existing pathway to me.
Romex inside a channel with a bunch of screws poking into it... doesn't keep me up at night or anything as I have properly sized breakers in case of failure, but probably not the best idea in hindsight.
kazetsukai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 07:23 AM   #13
Skoolie
 
Tejon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 236
Year: 1990
Chassis: Crown Supercoach
Engine: Detroit 6-71TA, 10 sp.
Rated Cap: 90 (40')
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazetsukai View Post
Romex inside a channel with a bunch of screws poking into it... doesn't keep me up at night or anything as I have properly sized breakers in case of failure, but probably not the best idea in hindsight.
Ah, gotcha. I was imagining an empty channel without all the pokey stuff.
Tejon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2021, 01:03 PM   #14
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Baja often, Oregon frequently
Posts: 176
Year: 1996
Coachwork: Our hot little hands...
Chassis: Ford CF8000 ExpeditionVehicle
Engine: Cummins 505ci mechanical
Well, see?
I learn something new every day.
.
2003, I ran all the electrics on one side for simplicity.
Or laziness... I forget which.
.
I run electricals through conduit into junction boxes because I am superstitious about sparky-smoky things.
Coming out of the nox, I usually install armored flex conduit.
.
I am also somewhat fuse obsessed.
I fuse neg and pos at the battery.
I fuse photovoltaic panels at the roof plus at the battery equipment.
.
I also waste money on going a size bigger than code, irregardless of run length.
.
And by 'fuse', I could mean fuse or circuit-breakers.
.
Despite fussing with this electrical stuff (read -- 'alien technology') for decades, I realize I will always be a better driver and wrencher than electrician.
LargeMargeInBaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2021, 09:57 AM   #15
Mini-Skoolie
 
Shambhala Tinbolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ON Canada
Posts: 54
Year: 2003
Coachwork: Bluebird
Rated Cap: 72 passenger
Hello,

What about simply running the electric wire in armoured conduit on your finished ceiling and painting the conduit the same colour as the ceiling?
It keeps the wiring fairly accessible in case of changes later. You aren't putting holes in your metal and finished floors. You could run it in a place where the conduit would be less visible, for example where your bedroom or bathroom walls meet the ceiling.
It's a much less labour intensive suggestion. Hope it is of service to you.


much light
__________________
Shambhala
Ontario Schoolie
Shambhala Tinbolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.