Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-27-2017, 08:15 PM   #1

Question about power draw

Hello, I'm new to the skoolie forum and I'm considering building one as an "apartment" while i'm at school.

My question is about the ball-park power consumption of the project.

The most demanding condition the bus would see is as follows: Running electric heat continuously for 12 hours, an apartment sized refrigerator, a hot water heater, an oven for 1 hour and also running a few LED light bulbs and a computer. Does anyone have a ballpark estimate on how much draw that might be? Looking to go 100% solar (but I may need to compromise on that... may go for propane/fire heat instead)

Thanks for any input!

NoRent-NoProblem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2017, 08:22 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
if tyou are going to be in an area thats cold enough for electric heat for 12 hours a day.. you are looking at being way up north in the winter.. which you have much less daylight hours, and a sun angle thats meager in december and january for sure... seems like solar in those conditons would need to be huge..

contrasting with summer where you have very long days with strong sun... its actually easier to A/C solar simply for that reason you have much more utilization of your system. I would want some type of fuel heat.. esp if you find yourself in an area with lots of winter cloudy days.. cloudy days in sumnmer still yield decent output.. in winter not so much...

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2017, 10:32 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 2000
Chassis: Blue Bird
Engine: ISC 8.3