Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-06-2021, 07:51 PM   #1

Running rear (original) air conditioning off of bus and/or inverter power

Hello-Newbie here- This might be completely impossible, but I won't know until I ask, so here goes. We are converting a 2009 Blue Bird Microbus. We've installed a Growatt 3 KW Inverter with a Big Battery 24 v system. We'd like to run the 12 volt rear air conditioner (The original AC) on this system. We know we'll have to convert to 12 volts from the 120 VAC output from the Growatt. Has anyone seen this done? If so how? I'd like to be able to run it off of either power source, the bus or the inverter system. We'll appreciate any help you can give us, Thanks in advance!

Suzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 10:27 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2009
Coachwork: Gillig
Chassis: G27E102
Engine: Cummins ISL 280
Rated Cap: 26,000 lbs
I don't know what specific system is used in those types of vehicles, but it is 99.999% sure they don't run on electricity. They run on engine power. There is a belt that drives a compressor straight of the crankshaft of the engine. Yes, it also needs 12V for the fans and controls and stuff, but no cold air is produced with electricity.

Electric and hybrid cars have electrically powered compressors, and there is an emerging trend to incorporate them also into higher end traditional cars and cars with start-stop systems. But it is a virtual certainty that it does not apply to your bus.

If you were a bunch of geeks that don't take no for an answer, sure, it could be done. I guess the least ridiculous way could be powering the A/C compressor directly with a, say, 2HP-or-thereabouts low-voltage BLDC motor and a timing belt.

You'd have to hack the control system to make it work, get a BLDC driver, and upgrade your alternator rather massively to be able to power it while driving.