Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-02-2021, 11:51 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas Saf-T-Liner
Chassis: HDX with lift
Engine: Mercedes MBE 920
Rated Cap: 22
Weird lights

So, I started up the bus today, to check out the lift, and see if I could fix it.

When I turned the key to the accessory position, the right headlight came on. I started it, and turned on the headlight switch. On the "low" position, the right headlight went out, and the left headlight came on. On the "high" position, all the headlights went off.

I'm not that good with auto electrics, but is that a switch problem, a relay problem or what? I'm really stumped where to even start looking.

DAVEHOLMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 08:03 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Coachwork: Thomas Built
Chassis: Minotour
Engine: Chevy Express 3500 6.6l
Like this?

Danjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 08:12 AM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: Front Engine
Engine: DT466E
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAVEHOLMAN View Post
So, I started up the bus today, to check out the lift, and see if I could fix it.

When I turned the key to the accessory position, the right headlight came on. I started it, and turned on the headlight switch. On the "low" position, the right headlight went out, and the left headlight came on. On the "high" position, all the headlights went off.

I'm not that good with auto electrics, but is that a switch problem, a relay problem or what? I'm really stumped where to even start looking.

So hard to say but I would start with wiring, short circuits and grounding issues.

There’s probably someone here with the headlight circuit memorized but the fact that ‘high’ made the right light go out and ‘off’ makes it go on is really interesting.