Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-25-2020, 12:09 AM   #1

Wheelchair lift power

Hi, I am a newbie here. I am thinking of getting a bus with a wheelchair lift and repurposing the wiring for a power source. Does anyone have feedback on how this would work? I know you have to disconnect the bus battery to work on wiring, and make sure there is not an ignition interlock attached, and I’ve seen a few videos where people take off a lift. But I’m not clear on the smartest/easiest steps/parts to use the leftover wheelchair wiring; for instance to add an air conditioner, or charge some deep cycle batteries, or just put a power outlet there and plug appliances in later?

Thanks for any advice!
~Lindy

sheltie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 08:33 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1990
Coachwork: Thomas 4 window w/lift
Chassis: G30~Chevy cutaway
Engine: 5.7/350 Chevy Vortec
Rated Cap: Just me and my "stuff"?
Most wheelchair lifts use a heavy duty battery cable that runs from the vehicle positive battery terminal to the lift door.
It is typically fed through a circuit breaker in case of cable damage or lift malfunction.

There are other smaller wires that run to the same general area as the bigger battery cable that powers the lift.
These wires are the "safeties" that are added to ensure the lift doesn't operate with the door closed, or the vehicle not having the park brake set, etc.

Not sure what you're wanting to do with the wiring, but the battery cable could be repurposed to run 12VDC appliances from.
I would caution you that doing that will discharge the vehicle's start battery to the point of leaving you stranded, unless you have a backup jumper pack or something.

If you want to add a battery isolator and run an auxiliary battery, you could do that without worry of discharging the start battery...
peteg59 is offline   Reply With Quote