Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-05-2020, 08:26 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Wiring Diagram, How'd I do?

Hello all,

After hours and hours and hours of research and learning I think I'm finally near completion on my wiring diagram!

I'm missing the gauges for a few wires that I'm yet to work out. But I do have a few questions about this element of the build.

I want to use AGM batteries because I am a full time freelancer and during the winter I am going to be traveling between ski resorts and staying in these very cold climb for extended periods. From research I want sealed batteries that I can store inside at minimum risk to my safety, because I don't want: a. batteries venting inside and making me go boom, and b. to have the batteries getting too cold so that they don't work.

When connecting sockets to the inverter do people just put in a plug and then wire that to a socket? I can't seem to see any connections to use otherwise, when I'm looking at pictures of inverters that it.

Finally, we're doing research on charge controllers, battery monitors, battery brands, and inverters. Any suggestions relating specifically to AGM setups with these elements? Specifically the first three.

What're all your thoughts?
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring Diagram.jpg  

Welshie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2020, 05:53 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Quote:
When connecting sockets to the inverter do people just put in a plug and then wire that to a socket? I can't seem to see any connections to use otherwise, when I'm looking at pictures of inverters that it.
Depends on the inverter, low budget inverters, or low power inverters of any budget, often only have three prong receptacles. But most inverters above 2000W from reputable manufacturers are available in models that can be hardwired. This is a HW variant of a 1200W Samlex inverter: