Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-31-2022, 05:17 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2000
Engine: Cummins 5.9
Wiring for a Microwave

Greetings,

I'm finally getting around to wiring and was thankfully given a huge roll of very well insulated 12 gauge wire. I'd like to run the wiring inside the walls of the bus to wire just about everything, except I'm concerned about whether the 12 gauge that would run about 24 feet is enough to support my microwave or toaster oven (on separate lines). I've already wired the air conditioner/heater with 10 gauge, and that works fine at 1585 watts on a 20 amp breaker. Should I go for a larger gauge than 12 for the microwave and toaster oven? Should I use a 30 amp breaker instead of a 20 amp breaker? Obviously I'm a novice, but I AM trying to find an electrician who will advise, but so far they only do houses (for some reason). Sooner or later I'll find a certified electrician to check over everything, but I'd hate to have to re-string wiring through the ceiling (that was tough), so I'm trying to make it on the "definitely safe" side to start with. Any thoughts or guidance?

Thanks!
Jim (The Jazz Buzz)

jch511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2022, 05:46 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Coachwork: Integrated Coach Corp.
Chassis: RE-300 42ft
Engine: 466ci
Rated Cap: 90
If it's120v 12/2, it's rated for 20A. Your micro is likely 12A or less. Dedicated 15A (or 20A) OCP, see nameplate rating on appliance. At 120v, 20A brkr @100 ft okay, longer if only 15A brkr on 12 wire.

What is the "well insulated wire" type? Romex, MC, UF, thhn/thwn....
DeMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2022, 05:57 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1999
Coachwork: El Dorado Fiberglass
Chassis: Ford E450
Engine: V10 Gas
Residential standards for a microwave is a dedicated 20 amp circuit with 12 gauge wire. Even with a fairly long run you should be okay.