Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-24-2020, 11:04 PM   #1

Using shower water for toilet flush?

I am very new to building these but not new to building, I've helped frame many many homes over the years. What I do know about plumbing is that s!$& flows down hill. Lol. My question is has anyone ever thought about using their shower run off as toilet water? I would rather save my fresh water if I could. I'm thinking that I could use a separate grey water tank for the shower and a separate pump for the toilet. Any ideas or has anyone ever done this?

Bluebird69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2020, 11:08 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas Built
Chassis: Minotour
Engine: Chevy Express 3500 6.6l
That sounds like a great idea. You’ll need another water pump and after you dump your grey you’ll need to add some water to flush.
Danjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2020, 11:11 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Oh, you’ll need to have a removable/cleanable prefilter to catch hair and such
Old 10-25-2020, 12:00 AM   #4

I didn't think about hair hmmm
Old 10-25-2020, 01:35 AM   #5
Bus Crazy

Year: 1997
Coachwork: bluebird
Chassis: chevy
Engine: 3116 catapillar
Rated Cap: 71 now 2 humans 1 cat
the turds wont mind the hair
mmoore6856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2020, 05:16 AM   #6
Bus Geek

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmoore6856 View Post
I was thinking about the pump
Old 10-25-2020, 07:36 AM   #7
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
a simple shower drain filter would catch the hair.. not sure if the soap would suds up in the toilet flush pump or not
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2020, 09:18 AM   #8
Bus Geek

Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466e
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmoore6856 View Post