Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-15-2019, 03:37 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1994
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: Conventional
Engine: Cummins 8.3
Rated Cap: 84
2-Part Polyurethane Foam by the Gallon

Okay, here's what:

I'm exploring insulation options, and I love the idea of closed cell expanding polyurethane, but I'm reeling from sticker shock. The kit Home depot sells says it covers 600 square feet at 1 inch thick, which equates to 50 cubic feet (unless my math is faulty), and costs $650. For enough to insulate the walls and ceiling of a 40' bus, that comes out to about an arm and a leg.

So I got to thinking...

I've had some pretty nice experiences with the 2-part foam you buy by the gallon; it's a heck of a lot easier to work with than Great Stuff, and it tends to be pretty competitively priced. It spreads, sculpts, and carves rather nicely, and can be applied in layers with a good mechanical and (I assume) chemical bond.

So, might it not be a good option to trowel the 2-part foam on (I expect I would use Bondo spreaders or homemade equivalents), repeat as necessary, and trim? As nearly as I can tell, it's the same stuff as the 2-part spray, just much cheaper and (granted, this is a hypothesis based in assumption and wishful thinking) less likely to waste excess material?

Here's a link to one manufaturer of this product that sells, among other things, a 40 cubic foot kit for $252 if you get 5 or more -

Urethane Foam , Expanding Marine Polyurethane Foam

- which brings up the question, does anybody want to go in on a big order if it turns out this stuff is a good answer?

Regardless, at their base price of $264 for that kit, it sounds like a much cheaper way to insulate with closed cell expanding foam.