Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-06-2021, 07:29 AM   #1
Almost There

Year: 1996
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American
Diesel Air Heater

I e been using my wood stove which seemed great until I was fulltime and stationary on my homestead. Last winter the back bedroom area got cold while my kids upper bunks were too hot. My middle section over the wheel Wells are the bunks. If I were to install a stationary diesel heater (I'm still learning about what they are) would having it on the ground in the back heat the bedroom and the rest of the bus enough to not have to wake up and fill the wood stove in the middle of the night? My freshwater tank is inside in the front directly across from the wood stove, so it keeps the tank and plumbing to the kitchen sink suitably warm tonot freeze. I'm also considering just getting a couple of portable buddy heaters, since I seem to understand that better and have used one before.

Chess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2021, 08:52 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1990
Chassis: Crown Supercoach
Engine: Detroit 6-71TA, 10 sp.
Rated Cap: 90 (40')
Whether or not the diesel heater will be warm enough depends a lot on how well insulated your bus is. That said, I'll take a wild guess and say that the standard 5 kW Chinese diesel heater would work fine for you. The diesel heaters may seem intimidating at first, but they're really pretty simple. I found YouTube to be very helpful on my install.

5kW is about 17k BTU, so almost twice the 9000 BTU rating of the Buddy portable. More importantly, diesel heaters send all the exhaust gases outside, minimizing condensation and risk of CO poisoning.