Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-04-2021, 05:57 PM   #1
Almost There

Year: 2003
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: 5.9L Cummins ISB
engine driven a/c freon capacity. repair advice needed.

I am trying to repair the ac system on our 2003 Thomas bus. It has two separate systems. I replaced the compressor and drier on one system evacuated system and added the amount of r134a hand wrote on a decal using a scale and from a 30lb bottle. 5lb 8oz. Pressures on manifold guages were very low, 15hg vacuum in low side and 70psi on high side and little to no cooling. Im not very experienced with charging ac systems so I thought something may be clogged. I asked my cousin who is an experienced ac tech with home systems and he suggested I keep adding freon unless I get high pressure on the high side. I wound up adding another 4+ lbs till the vents were blowing about 58°. Low side was about 28psi, high side was about 250. The outside air temp was about 68 but I had the heat on and brought the inside temp up to 80 before i started and ran the heat the whole time.
Why would I need so much more than the sticker says? Did someone goof up and write the wrong amount down on the decal maybe?
If thats the case how much oil should the system hold? the sticker listed 11oz of pag 150. I added 8oz based on recommend calculations for the parts I replaced.

Old 01-04-2021, 06:24 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas Built
Chassis: Minotour
Engine: Chevy Express 3500 6.6l
I have the Excel file from Daimler that has the AC charge info. I can’t upload it
To the site because it’s an XLS file. If you want it, DM your email address and I’ll email a copy to you.
Danjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2021, 06:32 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
Quote:
Originally Posted by aridgedell View Post