Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2019, 12:13 PM   #1
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Windham NH
Posts: 670
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International RE
Engine: International T444e
Rated Cap: 76
FRONT Split mount?

It just occurred to me, halfway through.


Is THIS illegal/unsafe/inadvisable? I intended to cover the front to avoid debris/etc and the ratcheting tie down is just there for during construction.

front_split.jpg


Pretty easy to "nope" and go with an undermount at this point.
kazetsukai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 02:51 PM   #2
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ogden utah
Posts: 106
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: Tc2000
Engine: 5.9 24v
Rated Cap: 27
Any fender bender would result in loss of your A/C unit.

It looks kinda goofy?

If it's the most convenient place for you to securely mount it then I say go for it.

Says the guy who built this...
I'm clearly biased towards front mount solutions.




http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f13/fr...s-26735-3.html
Jsneeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 04:29 PM   #3
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Windham NH
Posts: 670
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International RE
Engine: International T444e
Rated Cap: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsneeb View Post
If it's the most convenient place for you to securely mount it then I say go for it.
If I try to mount underneath, it robs me of all that hard-preserved clearance. 9" off the ground right in the middle... ugh. Can't pull that lever.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsneeb View Post
I'm clearly biased towards front mount solutions.
I want to do _exactly_ what you did there. Bigger bike, though: 2017 Kawasaki Concours 14.



I'm leaning towards losing the rear window at this point. Far less painful than putting it up front.
kazetsukai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 07:36 PM   #4
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,852
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
you definitely cant use it mounted to the front like that while driving... you are fighting the airflow.. also you need to maintain clearance from its back to the front of your bus.. the install manual will tell you how much clearance is required..
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 07:46 PM   #5
Bus Geek
 
ol trunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,657
Year: 1935
Coachwork: Superior
Chassis: Chevy
Engine: 317 ci/tid / Isuzu
"Any fender bender would result in loss of your A/C unit.

"It looks kinda goofy?

If it's the most convenient place for you to securely mount it then I say go for it.

Says the guy who built this...
I'm clearly biased towards front mount solutions."

Partial solution--or am I just being testy about there being no visible headlights or directionals
Jack
ol trunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 01:37 PM   #6
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Windham NH
Posts: 670
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International RE
Engine: International T444e
Rated Cap: 76
I stopped yesterday totally defeated. I wasted 7 hours on that.

Today I set out to do it right, even if it means install gets delayed a week or two. I also had some good help today, which kept things on track. This is what I ended up with:
ima_9ddd233.jpg

I would have welded something together, but A) I had strut channel laying around and B) I didn't have enough square tube. Also, I intend to eventually have a second unit, so I built a "full width" upper deck to accommodate that once I have it.

I'm now trying to decide where to put the indoor unit.
ima_417f6af.jpg

Quote:
Originally Posted by ol trunt View Post
Partial solution--or am I just being testy about there being no visible headlights or directionals
Jack
Yeah, if I put a bike up front, I'll duplicate the lights and flashers on the platform.
kazetsukai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 02:13 PM   #7
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 9,030
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Is there nowhere on a wall where that unit would fit? I mounted mine on top the chair rail under the second to last window in the back. Cut a hole through the side skin to vent it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20191026_150840347.jpg (102.8 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20191026_150508393.jpg (175.4 KB, 5 views)
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 02:15 PM   #8
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,852
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
this looks much better... be sure if thats an enclosed or close area of your bus that you have an easy means of egress sicne you cant use your back emergency window.. also make sure you maintain manufacturer clearance on the unit.. it needs some space behind it for airflow.. they can be set up fairly close.. the book should tell you.. I like to think its at least 6-8"
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 02:16 PM   #9
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,852
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
Quote:
Originally Posted by o1marc View Post
Is there nowhere on a wall where that unit would fit? I mounted mine on top the chair rail under the second to last window in the back. Cut a hole through the side skin to vent it.

marc, where are you going to source air from? is this the garage area of the bus which is non-conditioned?
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 02:26 PM   #10
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 9,030
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
marc, where are you going to source air from? is this the garage area of the bus which is non-conditioned?
It is in the garage and the unit is up in the cabin. I have an intake vent on the opposite side of the garage. I have a window unit when needed for the garage, in the upper left window.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20191026_151944013.jpg (189.4 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20191026_152001127.jpg (182.4 KB, 3 views)
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 04:56 PM   #11
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Windham NH
Posts: 670
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International RE
Engine: International T444e
Rated Cap: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by o1marc View Post
Is there nowhere on a wall where that unit would fit? I mounted mine on top the chair rail under the second to last window in the back. Cut a hole through the side skin to vent it.

I don't have "garage space" in my build. Its all living space. I'd have to get the air from somewhere. One potential candidate comes to mind (over the rear passenger side wheel well, currently an inaccessible "closet"), but I don't know that I want to commit to that kind of demolition, especially this late in the game. Wish I had the idea earlier on, it would have increased my options.



What do I lose with it up top in the back like that? I have cameras to back up with if needed, although I still need to install a display up front.
kazetsukai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×