Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2019, 04:03 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 36
Generator trip

My GE 6,000-BTU portable air conditioner(1010w) keeps tripping the Circuit On my Sportsman Gasoline 2,000 Surge Watt Portable Generator. It does run for about 4 minutes then kicks off the circuit. Help!! I’m in Texas it’s Hot ��
Zandria06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:10 PM   #2
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Picton,Ont, Can.
Posts: 1,907
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: Cat 3116
Rated Cap: 72
Start it on low fan and then low cool and see how that works for a while, then if ok and blowing cool, go to med cool and see if ok. The go to hi cool, but give these settings about 5 min to run each. Your generator might be undersized for the full on start but might handle it if you cool slowly then add more cooling.


How many amps is your air conditioner rated at? How many btu's?
And keep the windows and doors shut any vents etc, curtains might help also.



Keep cool,


John
__________________
Question everything!
BlackJohn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:13 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 36
Air conditioner is 1010w and 6,000 btu

Generator is 2,000watts
Zandria06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:17 PM   #4
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1,307
Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas Built
Chassis: Minotour
Engine: Chevy Express 3500 6.6l
What are you using to connect them?
Danjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:17 PM   #5
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Eastern WA
Posts: 6,306
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
You are in a spot......

Texas Summer in a bus with a portable air conditioner and a 2000 watt generator.

Other than being in Texas, have a portable A/C and a tiny generator you are in good shape.

Portable A/C's are notoriously inefficient and a cheap 2kw generator is pretty slim when trying to support A/C.

I'm not sure where you are in Texas. I spent a couple of Summers in Lubbock. I had 2"+ of spray foam insulation and RV windows in a white bus. I had an 8kw Kubota generator and 2 - 12k BTU roof airs.

In the warmest part of Summer we struggled to keep the inside temperature under 80F.
PNW_Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:18 PM   #6
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 36
50ft 16/3 SJTW Orange Cord
Finally lol
Zandria06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:24 PM   #7
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 36
50ft 16/3 SJTW Orange Cord
Zandria06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:25 PM   #8
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Picton,Ont, Can.
Posts: 1,907
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: Cat 3116
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zandria06 View Post
50ft 16/3 SJTW Orange Cord
Finally lol

You need minimum,14/3 extension cord but should look for a #12 or #10 awg size cord. Your ac is starving and you have a fire hazard pulling too many amps when the genny starts. Cable failure is imminent, exchange it for bigger.


John
__________________
Question everything!
BlackJohn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:25 PM   #9
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1,307
Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas Built
Chassis: Minotour
Engine: Chevy Express 3500 6.6l
You need a 12 gauge cord. Shorter the better.
Danjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:29 PM   #10
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 36
I’m where the tornado hit yesterday (Greenville) I don’t expect it to be below 80 but the bus isn’t insulated except for the floors. All my windows are covered and have no problem upping my generator size. I am just wondering if something is wrong with the ac unit I can put it on fan and it will stay on no problems just put it on low and eco and it cuts off
Zandria06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:30 PM   #11
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 36
Can you find one at Walmart and text me a picture? 4302428233
Zandria06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:35 PM   #12
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Picton,Ont, Can.
Posts: 1,907
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: Cat 3116
Rated Cap: 72
Your ac is drawing 10 amps when running roughly. To start it needs almost 30 amps momentarily. You need at least a 4kw generator which will run a bugger ac also if you need to buy one in future.


John
__________________
Question everything!
BlackJohn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:37 PM   #13
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1,307
Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas Built
Chassis: Minotour
Engine: Chevy Express 3500 6.6l
It will be labeled 12 gauge. All extension cords and all wire is required to have the size marked on the jacket.
Danjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:40 PM   #14
Bus Crazy
 
HazMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: E Central Tejas
Posts: 1,997
Year: 1998
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: IH 3800, 8 window
Engine: T444E w/ Spicer 5-speed MT
Rated Cap: I prefer broad-brims hats
You still need a heavier duty extension cord, and as short of a length as you can get away with!
Howdy from Grimes County! Where, on this soft Spring day, its 96/104 actual/heat index.
__________________
Those who say that it cannot be done should not interrupt the people doing it.
HazMatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:45 PM   #15
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 36
Ok guys off to Walmart I go I need a 12g cord. I need to get a bigger generator? In order for what I have to work or just to be on the safe side? I want to get a window unit put in I have one just not sure on the how to...
Zandria06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:48 PM   #16
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 36
How many amps does the Cord need? They have 12&15
Zandria06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 05:02 PM   #17
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 36
I’m 98 at the moment
Zandria06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 05:05 PM   #18
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 9,030
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zandria06 View Post
How many amps does the Cord need? They have 12&15
Get one like this to be safe.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Southwir...0002/203066459

A small window unit fits nicely in an open window, and can be removed for travel.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190527_151946 (1).jpg (78.5 KB, 13 views)
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 05:16 PM   #19
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 36
I didn’t think it would fit in the windows without replacing them
Zandria06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 05:21 PM   #20
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 36
What if I got a rv cord 30amp that’s 10g with the adapter?
Zandria06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner, circuit, generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×