Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-15-2020, 03:43 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1994
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf-T-Liner ER
Engine: 6.6L CAT 3116
Question Identifying Heater System - 1995 Thomas

Howdy folx! I'm the proud new owner of a 1995 Thomas Pusher and I'm super stoked to get the conversion going. I'm currently in the process of grinding out seats and am trying to get some planning done regarding my build. I'm new to the mechanics of large vehicles, especially diesels. I know that my heat is coming from a line of coolant piped up to the front of the bus, but I don't know if there is a heater involved or pumps or anything. Looking under the bus I see a few tanks and tubes etc but nothing that looks like the coolant heaters I see online (webasto/espar/etc).

Will everything become obvious to me once the floor/walls are removed or is there an easy way to be able to identify what things do under the bus?

GrassMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2020, 05:35 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
auxilliary coolant heaters were optional, in 1995 not too many had them, if the bus was run up north it may have but they were not real common. most of them were located in the engine compartment or in a small bay along the driver siude of the bus on the RE models.

your heater hoses for the rear to front will be inside the bus alongthe driver siide floor in usually a silver colored chaseway.. it will be easily apparent when youy take the seats out.. those are what transport the hot coolant from the engine up front for driver heat / defrosters, etc.. thiose lines may pass through a rear and a mid underseat heater on the way as well./.