Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-26-2021, 03:54 PM   #1

Mounting a mini split condenser on a short bus

Mini splits are great. They can heat and cool efficiently averaging several hundred watts in use. I've spec'ed out an electrical system which should run one with moderate use for a couple of days off grid and full blast while connected.

I've been debating for several months on the best placement for a mini split condenser on my 5 window e350 short bus. The bus has a side skirt condenser for the original a/c which is staying. I've taken out the rear head unit and patched the line for the front.

There's a spot just behind the gas tank between the support beams which looks like a great fit. It's out of the way and the gas tank would block most of the airflow from driving. It's at the highest point I can mount it under the bus and provides more clearance compared to mounting it sideways.

The issues I can see with this setup are debris damaging the condenser, or airflow forcing the fan in a way it wasn't designed for.

I know these are designed for stationary residential use and I'm willing to take some risk with the unit breaking, that said, I'd like it's life not to be too short. Alternative automotive specific units are generally less efficient and a lot more expensive than the $1-$1.5k for this setup.

I've never seen a build which mounts a condenser in this spot. Am I missing any glaring or show stopping problems?

edit: tried flipping the picture, always uploads upside down
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_20210426_134819.jpg   IMG_20210426_134808.jpg   IMG_20210426_134900.jpg  

frostyllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2021, 06:27 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Just the two of us.