Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2020, 08:26 AM   #1
Skoolie
 
T-Bolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Lafayette, Indiana
Posts: 220
Year: 2003
Engine: DT530
Rated Cap: 84
Roof top AC on the curve

Today my AC arrives and I would like to get it installed. Quick question is when I reduce the size of my hatch for the AC do I have to have a flat surface to install it on or is it ok to mount it to the curve?
__________________
https://eternitybus.com
T-Bolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 09:22 AM   #2
Bus Nut
 
WIbluebird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 931
Year: 2001
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American
Engine: 8.3 Cummins ISC
Rated Cap: 75
It will conform to the curve. There's a thick rubber gasket at the bottom of the unit that gets compressed by 4 bolts that are screwed into the unit from inside the bus.
WIbluebird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 11:48 AM   #3
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Wild Wild West
Posts: 435
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: TC RE
Engine: 8.3 Cummins MD3060
Rated Cap: 84
This is true, however, the unit does need to sit as close to level as possible for proper function. Just make sure it isn't leaning to one side and it'll be fine.
JackE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 11:53 AM   #4
Bus Geek
 
EastCoastCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Eustis FLORIDA
Posts: 22,241
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackE View Post
This is true, however, the unit does need to sit as close to level as possible for proper function. Just make sure it isn't leaning to one side and it'll be fine.
I know in FL they sometimes mount two of them side by side.
__________________
.
Roll Your Own Build Thread
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 12:11 PM   #5
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Wild Wild West
Posts: 435
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: TC RE
Engine: 8.3 Cummins MD3060
Rated Cap: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by EastCoastCB View Post
I know in FL they sometimes mount two of them side by side.
5 A/C units?? That makes me think my plan for 3 isn't going to be enough!!

I would worry a little about the 2 on the back. I know if you get too much angle on any A/C unit it can allow the oil to go places it shouldn't.

Apparently I shouldn't worry, it must be working for them.
JackE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 12:47 PM   #6
Bus Geek
 
EastCoastCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Eustis FLORIDA
Posts: 22,241
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackE View Post
5 A/C units?? That makes me think my plan for 3 isn't going to be enough!!

I would worry a little about the 2 on the back. I know if you get too much angle on any A/C unit it can allow the oil to go places it shouldn't.

Apparently I shouldn't worry, it must be working for them.
Yeah all the Bloodmobiles in my area have 5.

Why I think I need at LEAST one 15k unit for mine.
__________________
.
Roll Your Own Build Thread
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 01:44 PM   #7
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Picton,Ont, Can.
Posts: 1,956
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: Cat 3116
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by EastCoastCB View Post
Yeah all the Bloodmobiles in my area have 5.

Why I think I need at LEAST one 15k unit for mine.



CB, how many amps does a 15K unit draw? You may need a honkin big genny so size accordingly.



John
__________________
Question everything!
BlackJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 01:48 PM   #8
Bus Geek
 
EastCoastCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Eustis FLORIDA
Posts: 22,241
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJohn View Post
CB, how many amps does a 15K unit draw? You may need a honkin big genny so size accordingly.



John
somewhere in the 13-16 range.
Planning on at least a 3500-5000w genset. and a 50 amp shore power hookup.
__________________
.
Roll Your Own Build Thread
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 01:57 PM   #9
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Picton,Ont, Can.
Posts: 1,956
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: Cat 3116
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by EastCoastCB View Post
somewhere in the 13-16 range.
Planning on at least a 3500-5000w genset. and a 50 amp shore power hookup.



This surprises me. My old 13.5 has a 20 amp breaker but not sure what it draws exactly. I always run it on low cool anyway. Today is nearly 100F , humid and I sit with no shade, curtains and blinds drawn.
I guess if your figures are correct that genny might do it, 50 amp definitely will.


John
__________________
Question everything!
BlackJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 02:35 PM   #10
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Wild Wild West
Posts: 435
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: TC RE
Engine: 8.3 Cummins MD3060
Rated Cap: 84
My pop-up camper has a 13.5K unit on it, new last year. My 2K genny will not start it up. I have an old Onan 2250 watt that can start it, but it has to think about it really hard every time it does. My 6.5K Onan I mounted to the bus will run the 2 units from the motor home without any problems, but I'm not sure on the size of those units. I'm planning on 3 roof top units and 50 amp shore. I will be able to run any 2 off the genny, and hopefully all 3 off shore power.
JackE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 03:09 PM   #11
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: West Ohio
Posts: 1,736
Year: 1984
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International 1753
Engine: 6.9 International
Rated Cap: 65
How many amps needed to run an ac unit depends on the unit.

Most people ballpark around 3k surge watts per unit. You definitely don't want to be undersized and tripping breakers all the time. Especially with on a hot day with a sweaty family. Tempers get short quick.

For example, I have a honda eb2500(2.3kw continuous rating) and it won't run the 15k btu ac unit on my bus. But it did run the 15k btu ac unit on a buddy's pop up a few years ago.

The difference is that my unit is likely 20+ years old, and his was a new rental for the weekend. Newer units have a soft starting compressor, and some are even variable speed, which lowers the power draw even more.
__________________
The Silver Bullet https://www.skoolie.net/forums/f11/p...llet-9266.html
Booyah45828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×