Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-03-2021, 07:50 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 2006
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: MVP-EF
Engine: Cat C7 + Allison 3000PTS
Webasto may have lost prime, tips?

My webasto was working great in early October, but of course now that it’s really cold, it doesn’t want to fire up. The pump comes on, and I can see the system draw a little more power at times when I think it might be trying to ignite, but I don’t hear any clicks and there sure isn’t any heat being generated.

I know I need a new fuel filter but I imagine I have already, or will, lose prime. What’s the best way to prime these things? I am not experienced in this kind of stuff but I’m willing to figure it out.

dbsoundman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2021, 07:00 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
what kind of webasto is it? the little one or the big long cylindrical type? (scholastic 45 / DB2010)?

the smnaller ones ignite with a glowplug and the clickety clack dosing pump.. the big ones are essentially like a Home Fuel-oil Boiler.. each has a completely different ignition cycle and sequence..
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2021, 07:01 AM   #3
Bus Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
what kind of webasto is it? the little one or the big long cylindrical type? (scholastic 45 / DB2010)?

the smnaller ones ignite with a glowplug and the clickety clack dosing pump.. the big ones are essentially like a Home Fuel-oil Boiler.. each has a completely different ignition cycle and sequence..

I’m not sure yet, I’ll try to get the cover off today while there’s still some daylight and check it out.
Old 11-04-2021, 09:35 AM   #4
Bus Geek

I went through the ignition cycle of my big yellow DBW2010 heater..