Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-04-2018, 09:25 PM   #1

Year: 2003
Coachwork: international
Chassis: 3000
Engine: dt466e
Rated Cap: 77
17A our new bus

Hello everyone,
after lurking, gleaning, and enjoying this site for the last few months i've pulled the trigger on a full size bus, soon to be a skoolie. we live on a tiny island in nc accessible only by ferry. the two school busses on the island are both white. we'll be the only yellow bus in the district haha.
we're looking to do a full conversion for coast to coast travel as well as a home on acreage as i build our stick frame house. i have extensive building experience as i have worked in the trades for 20 years. we're also lucky to be living on ocracoke island where many of my close friends are skilled in areas that i will need help with...
the bus- unnamed as of yet -is a 2003 international 3000, 77cap, dt466e, md3060 with 207k miles. it ran in hilly elkins, wv and was serviced regularly. we just won the auction an hour ago and i'm trying to save my excitement for a time hopefully next week when it is with us on the island.
without all the time i spent following and digesting all the great information here on skoolie.net i would not have been nearly as decisive and confident in my purchase. thanks to each and every one of you for the help.

derek and callie

BarefootTarheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2018, 10:31 PM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1996
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: GMC/Gasser
Rated Cap: 54
Congratulations!! Sounds like a good bus to start a build!!
chopanegas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2018, 10:45 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Congratulations on the new bus. Im new here too
And just in the reading and learning stage.
(More confused then before)
Mark carr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2018, 10:48 PM   #4
Bus Crazy

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Engine: DT466E