Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-04-2017, 04:21 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

20 y/o newbie here. I intend to present to you, from concept to cause, The Caboose!

Get your avocados and iPhones ready, because it's about to get VERY millennial up in here. Apologies in advance for the unreasonably long post.

Hopefully this is the right place to post all of this, I've done my best to lurk around the forum for a little over a week to figure out where stuff goes and this seems like the place for my initial post.

THE BACKSTORY: I'm a 20 y/o part-time student and full-time bartender in Austin, TX, and while I'm saving up most of my money to go to school full-time in the next year or so, any disposable income I have tends to go to concerts and/or music festivals. I play 11 instruments, so I have a pretty wide variety of taste in music that extends from Bruce Springsteen to Illenium, from Bobby Darin to Vampire Weekend, from The Shins to Chance The Rapper. All this is to say that music is very important to me, and I'm definitely one of those people for whom music is a full-on hobby.

As an extension of that hobby, I try to make it to as many music festivals as I can. They're a ton of fun, and the people I've met and connections I've made at some of these fests have been truly remarkable. Over time, I've gathered a group of about 20-25 folks, who have become nothing short of family, that attend fests and go on trips and whatnot together. We're an extremely tight-knit crew, and recently we've decided to fully investigate, research, group-fund, and renovate our own skoolie, which we will call "The Caboose".

Tacky picture of the entire group:

THE PURPOSE: The Caboose's purpose will be two-fold:
  1. Streamline the group's travel to and from festivals and other events
  2. Serve as a permanent safe haven, campsite, and party beacon