Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-10-2016, 11:06 AM   #1

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas
Engine: GM 6.5L Duramax Turbo Diesel
Rated Cap: 26
Advice for a beginner

Howdy!

My name's Em and I'm just about done with my nursing degree. It'll be a couple years before I'm able to afford a bus of my own (I have to get a job first), but I figured there's no time like the present to start planning! I have been looking into bus types (I'm thinking I'll probably go with a 24-seater short bus), floor plans, tips and tricks, and I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed.

Where would you suggest starting? I keep reading about these "auctions" people get there buses at...where do I find those? Where have people been finding these buses for sale? Anything you wish you had known before you started on your bus? Special skills I should brush up on (I am no expert but I'm a quick study and good with my hands)?

Many thanks!

ermccune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2016, 01:39 PM   #2
Skoolie

Welcome, its good that you are asking before buying, should help you get the right bus for you when the time comes.
Auctions, Public Surplus: Government Surplus Auctions Public surplus, https://www.govdeals.com/ Government Deals, and Ebay are the main auctions, there may be others too.
I got one bus at an auction and one off Craigslist. Check your local Buy & Sell, Craigslist, offerup, etc.
Check with your local school district and see when and where they sell their buses.
If you live in an area that cars rust, think about looking for a bus out West or in the South where rust is not an issue. The cost to fly and drive back will be less than the cost of major rust repair.