Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-05-2019, 05:34 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Smile Bus Conversion in Denver, CO

Hello everyone!

My name is Alyssa. I'm just beginning to plan the conversion of a school bus into a home for travel nursing. I'm looking for any and all advice from others who already have or are in the midst of conversion including where to start when it comes to required registration, licenses, etc. Tips on floor plans and optimizing space are welcome too!

A huge thanks in advance for any input!!

AKTrainum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 01:36 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Bus
Chassis: Freightliner FS65
Engine: Caterpillar 3126E Diesel
Rated Cap: 71 Passenger- 30,000 lbs.
Hello and welcome!

My wife and I met a travelling doctor that was converting a school bus for living in and seeing patients. She said she got the bus she had because of the "basement" storage already in the bus. [Basement storage is the storage areas under the floor level on the outside pf the bus.] For her, the idea was to have the medical supplies in the basement area (those that did not need a controlled room temperature like bandages). Just a thought for you to consider in your search for a bus to fit your needs.
Native is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 12:56 PM   #3
Skoolie

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: TC 1000
Engine: 5.9/AT
Rated Cap: 2 adults, 2 dogs