Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-20-2022, 04:07 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Coachwork: TBA
Chassis: ShortBus/Shuttle
Engine: Vroom?
Rated Cap: BabyBus w/storageBays
CrownBirdie Sings Hello

Greetings Everyone,

I'm actually a very torn newbie RVer. I've gone from drooling over Class A's & C's to being pretty much sold on truck campers because of the major service hassles most other RV types have for not being well built in the 1st place, especially the new RVs being pushed out now. I also really love a truck camper's ability to go most anywhere, ease of parking, & the wondrous freedom of not having to tow a blessed thing. But I'm a gal who needs a lot of space, so only a large Lance, HOST, or Eagle Cap would do which requires at least an F-450/550/5500 to be completely steady without needing all the mods an F-350 truck has to get to carry such huge campers.

Yes, it's weird to some that I prefer truck campers to Class B's or vanmods but I just don't like the narrow corridor feeling of them. Strangely, the larger truck campers with slides feel more spacious & open to me, especially since the cab bunk over the truck roof frees up more living space. So there it is.

And, like everyone else, I'm trying to keep my costs down. Truck campers also seemed safer & easier to get serviced. But when considering my storage & safety issues, skoolies became a more real possibility, especially considering they are built like tanks compared to most other RVs & certainly more affordable than Super Cs.

I didn't think of buses at first because I assumed they were all super long & even the Class A's I was looking at were well under 35 feet. Which is why short buses & shuttles are so attractive as more maneuverable RoamHomes. Sacrificing parking flexibility for more room & storage seems a good tradeoff.